Review: The Handmaid’s Tale

The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood                                 Anchor, 1st Edition Anchor Books, 1998

The Handmaid’s Tale is narrated by Offred, a woman living in the Republic of Gilead (once part of the United States of America).  Due to toxic waste and other issues most people have become infertile.  Offred is one of a group of handmaid’s literally used to boost the population.  Her job is to live in the house of one of the upper-class families of Gilead that are infertile and produce children.  As she narrates the story of how her life came to this extreme, you find that she once lived in the United States with her husband and child.  You will be shocked by how she became a handmaid, how the Republic of Gilead came to fruition, and how horrifyingly easy it would be to see something like this happen in the future.

This is a must-read.  I had been in a bit of a reading slump lately.  Every book that I picked up did nothing for me until I read this one.  This book took me on such a fast-paced adventure that I could not put down.  What I loved about this book was the “blinders”.  Since it was told from Offred’s point of view, you only knew the exact amount of information that she knew (which wasn’t much).  So I was constantly on my toes, wanting more.  I thought that the main protagonist was such a likable person.  She might not have been as heroic as some would like, but I thought there was something so honest about her.  My only real negative was that the book ended too soon.  I wanted a sequel.  I need more.  Go pick this book up!  It is quick, fascinating and will remind all women of how good we have it in this world of ours.

About Bookmomma

"The greatest gift is a passion for reading. It is cheap, it consoles, it distracts, it excites, it gives you knowledge of the world and experience of a wide kind. It is a moral illumination.” -Elizabeth Hardwick
This entry was posted in Book Club Picks, Buy This Book Today. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review: The Handmaid’s Tale

  1. Georgia says:

    Great review! I’m really into dystopian literature and LOVED this novel too – the totalitarianism society makes you feel more appreciative about life due to the fact that this could potentially happen to us… You might be interested in http://theworldisabook.co.uk/dystopian-literature/ if you like The Handmaid’s Tale; I look forward to reading more of your reviews 🙂

Leave a Reply

