Review: Stories I Only Tell My Friends

Stories I Only Tell My Friends: An Autobiography            by Rob Lowe                                                                                 Henry Holt & Co., April 2011                                                      *I bought this book with my own money.*

Okay, I will totally admit that I bought this book because I’ve had a crush on Rob Lowe since I was a little girl.  Who can blame me?  He is delicious to look at and has made some of my favorite movies: The Outsiders, St. Elmo’s Fire, Austin Powers, The Stand mini-series.  But what I was not expecting was the amazing story.  Once I started this book it was impossible to put down.  Mr. Lowe can write, really write.  He is not just a pretty face people.

The title of this book is very fitting, because as you read it you feel as if you are a friend of Rob’s.  His writing style is easy and earnest.  The stories are compelling peeks behind the curtain of some of the most beloved movies and tv shows.  He even weighs in on Charlie Sheen!  But none of it is written in a malicious or “tabloid” style.  It is just told as it was, no judgment.  I imagine that there were a lot of Brat Pack members who gave a sigh of relief after reading this, because I am sure there were things he left out.  But I thought it gave such a real depiction of life growing up in front of the camera, of the magical moments involved in making movies and the pitfalls of working in an industry where you are constantly under a microscope.

The only negative that I can give you about this book is that it was over far too soon.  I enjoyed every single moment.  It is a great read for any beach vacation or summer pool time you have.  Believe me, if you didn’t have a crush on Rob Lowe before reading this….you will after.  So go forth and relive the 80’s!  It will make you want to rent every Brat Pack movie and have an 80’s night.

About Bookmomma

"The greatest gift is a passion for reading. It is cheap, it consoles, it distracts, it excites, it gives you knowledge of the world and experience of a wide kind. It is a moral illumination.” -Elizabeth Hardwick
This entry was posted in Buy This Book Today. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

