Waiting on Wednesday: Dead Reckoning

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine.  It takes place on….(wait for it)….Wednesday and highlights what books we are waiting on pins and needles for.  It’s a great way to get excited about upcoming arrivals, pre-order books and just see what is going on in the literary world.  So here’s what I’m waiting on.

__________________________________________________________________________

Dead Reckoning by Charlaine Harris                                      Ace Hardcover                                                                             Publication Date: May 3, 2011

Summary from Goodreads:

“With her knack for being in trouble’s way, Sookie witnesses the firebombing of Merlotte’s, the bar where she works. Since Sam Merlotte is now known to be two-natured, suspicion falls immediately on the anti-shifters in the area. But Sookie suspects otherwise and she and Sam work together to uncover the culprit – and the twisted motive for the attack. But her attention is divided. Though she can’t ‘read’ vampires, Sookie knows her lover Eric Northman and his ‘child’ Pam well – and she realises that they are plotting to kill the vampire who is now their master. Gradually, she is drawn into the plot -which is much more complicated than she knows. Caught up in the politics of the vampire world, Sookie will learn that she is as much of a pawn as any ordinary human – and that there is a new Queen on the board . . . ”

Why I want to read it:

I love the Sookie Stackhouse series.  I started reading it before the True Blood tv show appeared (because I obviously have awesome taste).  So, of course, why stop at 10?  However, I would recommend reading the other books before jumping to this one.  Otherwise, I am pumped it will be out just in time to read at the pool this summer.

About Bookmomma

"The greatest gift is a passion for reading. It is cheap, it consoles, it distracts, it excites, it gives you knowledge of the world and experience of a wide kind. It is a moral illumination.” -Elizabeth Hardwick
This entry was posted in Wordless Wednesday. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Waiting on Wednesday: Dead Reckoning

  1. YUM! I can’t wait. My only complaint about these books is that they’re ALL too short. I finish them all in 2 days or less – I want more Sookie and Eric!!

  2. btyler711 says:

    I hope I am through the series before it comes out! I am just wrapping up book six (6) and am reading about one every 5 days. This series is awesome and yes you do have great taste!

  3. Great pick! I am soooo behind on this series! I need to get caught up one day. 🙂

    Happy Wednesday!
    http://readerbee.blogspot.com/2011/03/waiting-on-wednesday-4-gathering.html

  4. YES!!!! I am sooooo looking forward to this one! #10 was a bit off for me, so I am hoping that this one redeems my undying, but slightly damaged, love for Eric!

    -Linds, bibliophile brouhaha

  5. Pingback: Sunday Summary: 3/6 | bookmomma

Leave a Reply

