Summary Sunday….What I Wrote About This Week

In case you missed any of my posts this week, here is what I wrote about (in fact, I will probably include the last 2 weeks since this is new for me).  Feel free to click through any of the links.  I have some great recommendations for book clubs, for sitting on the couch or for reading under the covers at night.

There will be a lot more coming up this week!  I am so close to being done with Swamplandia! and you will not want to miss my review about the alligator wrestling family that owns the theme park, Swamplandia!  I guarantee that you have not read a story like this before.  I have a few oldies, but goodies as well that you might not have gotten.  There will also be a scary story this week.  So make sure you come back daily, or save me in your RSS reader.

Okay, here is my summary:

I reviewed 2 Sarah Waters books in the past 2 weeks.  Both are definitely worth the read.  The Little Strangers is a gothic story set in a crumbling mansion.  Fingersmith is a Victorian mystery novel.  Both would also make great book club selections because you will want someone to talk with about these stories when done.

I’ve had 2 Toddler Thursdays since I’ve started.  If you are new to my blog, this event occurs every Thursday.  I bring you some of my favorite children books.  This past Thursday in my Toddler Thursday article I talked about Lily’s Purple Plastic Purse, Mufaro’s Beautiful Daughter and Bee-Wigged.  The week before I reviewed Knuffle Bunny, Pete the Cat, Stand Tall, Molly Lou Melon, and A Bad Case of Stripes.  All of the books above would make great gifts for that little someone you love.

For those of you that need a little historical romance in your life, I gave you a cliff notes version of the beginning of Oh, Kentucky! One of my all-time favorite novels that is out of print.  Romance, danger, history and Indians….what more could a girl ask for?

A few of the books that I think would make fantastic book club selections were reviewed:  There was Laura Lippman’s I’d Know You Anywhere, The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society, Orange is the New Black: My Year In a Women’s Prison, and (one of my favs) The Distant Hours.  I also gave you my thoughts on The Swan Thieves.

And that is what you may have missed this week.  Thanks again for stopping by.  I have loved having you here.  I hope that these recommendations get you reading.  I am committing to reading a book a week in 2011.  Won’t you join me?  And please, post in the comments section the books that you are reading.  I know that we all want to hear.  That’s why I started this blog in the first place.

Have a happy Sunday.  I am going to go curl up with a book,

Ashley

About Bookmomma

"The greatest gift is a passion for reading. It is cheap, it consoles, it distracts, it excites, it gives you knowledge of the world and experience of a wide kind. It is a moral illumination.” -Elizabeth Hardwick
This entry was posted in Summary Sunday. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Summary Sunday….What I Wrote About This Week

  1. Wow, you had a busy reviewing week! I’ll have to see if I can find a copy of Oh, Kentucky! It sounds really fun.

  2. Rae says:

    Thanks for sharing these reviews – my reading list is growing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

