Toddler Thursday…Or Little Books that Pack a Big Punch

For those of you with rugrats running around, I thought you might like a few good kid book suggestions.  I am a huge fan of all children’s books.  It started way back with Scholastic in elementary school.  There was always something about circling the books I wanted on those pages, begging my mom for some moolah to buy them and getting them from the teacher.  In fact, when I started teaching elementary school one of the very first things I did was sign up for Scholastic.  Now that I teach preschool, and have a daughter, we do a lot of Scholastic ordering around here.  My daughter, Maddie, and I often frequent our local bookstores (especially Little Shop of Stories in Decatur…a must see) to check out the merchandise.  I have found some fantastic books over the years.  Here is a compilation of a few that make me, my 3-year-old (she wants you to know she is almost 4, not almost 3), my pre-k kids that I teach and probably Scholastic happy:

 

Knuffle Bunny: A Cautionary Tale by Mo Willems   http://www.mowillems.com

5 out of 5 stars

Trixie and her dad go the laundry mat to…you know…do laundry.  However, on the way home Trixie has to tell her dad something.  Knuffle bunny is lost!  What will happen?  Where is he?  Riveting pre-k stuff.  I should mention, the pictures are out of this world spectacular.  It is written in a style that is easy for children to comprehend and re-tell, but it is still has enough meat that as an adult I don’t mind reading it again and again and again.  If you like it you should also check out Knuffle Bunny Too: A Case of Mistaken Identity and Knuffle Bunny Free: An Unexpected Diversion.  We had the chance to go to an author signing with Mo Willems through Little Shop of Stories.  You would have thought my daughter met Elvis.  Except without any panty throwing.  Case in point below

Holding her Knuffle Bunny world tour passport and her “Blankie”

 

 

Getting her book signed

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pete the Cat: I Love My White Shoes By Eric Litwin Art by James Dean                           www.petethecat.com

5 out of 5 stars

“Pete the cat was walking down the street in his brand new white shoes…”   What’s cool about Pete is that it comes with music.  You sing the whole book.  The tune is catchy, the words have a great message and the pictures are so bright and vibrant.  Not only do little ones love to dance around to the song, but so do adults.  I can’t tell you how many times my whole family has danced around to this whole song.  It is fan-freaking-tastic

Stand Tall, Molly Lou Melon by Patty Lovell illustrated by David Catrow                                www.catrow.com

4.75 out of 5 (mainly because I don’t think I should give everything a 5, okay I’ll give it a 5 too)

Molly Lou Melon is tiny, with funny teeth and a squeaky voice, but does that stop her?  No.  Follow her as she teaches others how being yourself is the most important lesson of all.  This story is sweet, funny and actually reminded ME that being yourself is the only way to be.

A Bad Case of Stripes by David Shannon

5 out of 5 stars (you get a 5 and you get a 5 and you get a 5, in my best Oprah voice)

Camilla Cream has worried herself sick about the first day of school.  Not sick with a fever, not sick with a cold but sick with a bad case of stripes.  Nothing anyone can do seems to help cure these stripes, until Camilla listens to what she REALLY wants.  Cute tale about being you.  The best part by far are the illustrations.  They are nothing short of stunning.

I have many more that I look forward to sharing with you.  Maybe I’ll make this a weekly thing?  Toddler Thursday (although Maddie wants you to know she is a big kid)?  Let me know if this is something you parents are up for.

About Bookmomma

"The greatest gift is a passion for reading. It is cheap, it consoles, it distracts, it excites, it gives you knowledge of the world and experience of a wide kind. It is a moral illumination.” -Elizabeth Hardwick
This entry was posted in Toddler Thursday. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Toddler Thursday…Or Little Books that Pack a Big Punch

  1. Stacy says:

    I also used to teach preschool, and I hold a special place in my heart for children’s books; and “Knuffle Bunny” is one of my faves! My students also loved “Not Norman” about a pet goldfish, and an alphabet book called “Bad Kitty”. Also, I saw the sequal to “Knuffle Bunny” in the store the other day, have you seen that one yet?

  2. Jess says:

    We have Not Norman, too, and I agree its a great book!

  3. Book Momma says:

    Stacy: We have the other two Knuffle Bunny books and they are all fantastic. With each book Trixie gets older, so the reading level and word count increases. In the 2nd one she goes to school and brings Knuffle Bunny for show-and-tell. However, another student has the same bunny. In the third book she goes to Holland to visit her grandparents and leaves Knuffle on the plane. They are both worth the money.

    Jess, I will have to check out Not Norman. Thanks for the recommendation!

  4. Ellen says:

    While I love Knuffle Bunny, I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE Stand Tall Molly Lou Melon. I used to read it every year to my second graders!

    • Book Momma says:

      Molly Lou Melon is one of my favorites too. I love the message of the story, and I love the illustrations. In fact we read it tonight before bed. Send any good suggestions for “Toddler Thursday” my way. I am always looking for stuff for Maddie and the blog. Thanks for stopping by!

  5. Pingback: Summary Sunday….What I Wrote About This Week | bookmomma

Leave a Reply

