Review: Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows

5 out of 5 stars

The only thing that you will not love about this book is the title.  The title was so long and “fluffy” that I did not pick it up based on snobby principle.  However, in the end my Amazon suggestion page won and am I ever glad it did.  This was in my top 10 that I read in 2010, and really it is probably up there for my all time favorites.

The year is 1946 and Juliet Ashton, a writer in London, is tired.  She is struggling with covering the same post-war stories that come her way.  Suddenly inspiration hits in an unlikely letter from Dawsey Adams, a Guernsey farmer.  Dawsey finds Juliet’s name in the front of a used book he purchased.  What follows is a correspondence between Dawsey, Juliet and the whole Guernsey gang.  The things that Juliet hears about Guernsey range from the mundane, to the hilarious, to the heroic acts of everyday people during World War II.  This not only alters Juliet’s work, but her life.  And if I’m being honest, came close to altering mine.  I felt as if I lived in Guernsey with these people and was so sad when the book ended.  What could have been just a sweet story became so much more with this superbly written novel.

Go visit Guernsey and happy reading!

Ashley

About Bookmomma

"The greatest gift is a passion for reading. It is cheap, it consoles, it distracts, it excites, it gives you knowledge of the world and experience of a wide kind. It is a moral illumination.” -Elizabeth Hardwick
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Review: Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

  1. Jaimee says:

    Now I know where Crystal gets her book recommendations. I think this is the second one she’s recommended to me that you’ve posted.

  2. Crystal says:

    I read this book this book 4 times and didn’t even mean to. I just kept going back to it again and again. The epistolary format makes it easy to miss out on details and each time I went back, I found a new gem. I want to visit Guernsey. I want to be friends with Juliet and the quirky people of Guernsey. And I want to try potato peel pie. If you can get pass the whole German occupation, it sounds like a sweet place to live!

  3. Book Momma says:

    Jaimee, stay awhile. Maybe you’ll find some more good recommendations : ) Thanks for coming by!

  4. Crystal says:

    Jaim, I told her all I do is pass along her recommendations. It never fails! She’s always my first stop when I need a new book. 🙂

  5. Terry Morgan says:

    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this book!!! So glad there’s someone else out there who appreciates this lovely read. I discovered it a couple of years ago and plan to revisit it in the near future.

  6. Pingback: Summary Sunday….What I Wrote About This Week | bookmomma

  7. Claire says:

    I couldn’t put it down. I woke up at 5am so I could finish it this morning before work. It’s absolutely the most PERFECT book to start a book club with! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

