Review: Fingersmith by Sarah Waters

.
If you haven’t heard of Sarah Waters, prepare to be schooled.  I love Sarah Waters for some many things.  First, her books are just good.  So good that you go to bed thinking about the characters and wake up next to them.  Her stories are always interesting with some kind of twist.  They force you to look at things a little differently.  And then, just when you feel really comfortable with the story…BAM she blows your mind and takes you in a different direction.  So do yourself a favor and pick up a Sarah Waters book today.

That being said, Fingersmith is my favorite of her books.  You will find that I cannot say too much about it without giving something away.  So forgive me if my review is a little vague.  But trust this bookmomma and go out and get it pronto.  Then call me and let’s go get a margarita and get to talking, because I have no one to talk about this book with.  You have no idea how much it is killing me.  Without further adieu, here is what Fingersmith is about in a vague nutshell.

A Victorian mystery novel full of twists and turns I never saw coming.  This is a tale told by 2 orphan girls brought up in totally different worlds.  Susan, who is raised by a family of thieves that deal in pickpocketing (fingersmiths), baby farming and stolen goods.  Then there’s Maude, who is raised in a huge Victorian mansion in the middle of nowhere.  She has only her old, half mad uncle to keep her company.

The story opens with Susan being given a proposition that her family cannot turn down.  A “family friend” who makes a living doing not so kosher things comes to visit Susan with the perfect, evil plan in mind.  He has been working for an old man in the English countryside that is loaded.  The man lives alone except for his servants and his niece Maude.  So what’s a thief to do?  Convince Maude to marry him so that he can take her money, right?  So obvious.  However, Maude is not the easiest to win over.   Who better to help persuade Maude then a maid/companion, a girl her own age, a confidant.  Cue Susan…… All she has to do is go and be this girl’s maid to get her family a cut of the money.  Simple.  Or is it?  You will not believe the twists and turns this novel has.  My mouth literally fell open at one point.  To find out more you will have to read this tale.  Trust me.  Go now and buy.  Really.  One of the best I read in 2010.  Alright, goodbye.

 

About Bookmomma

"The greatest gift is a passion for reading. It is cheap, it consoles, it distracts, it excites, it gives you knowledge of the world and experience of a wide kind. It is a moral illumination.” -Elizabeth Hardwick
This entry was posted in Buy This Book Today, Top 10 Lists. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Review: Fingersmith by Sarah Waters

  1. Jen says:

    Every time you list a book I put it on the hold list at my library. I better get reading pretty quickly!!

  2. Amanda Shelley says:

    I just ordered this book to my kindle. Starting to read it today! I am so glad you started this blog. You are definitely a natural. I have recommended it to several people already. I’ll let you know what I think about it.

    • Amanda Shelley says:

      You know…after reading this comment I realized I wrote the last sentence incorrectly. I meant to write that I’ll let you know what I think about the book. Thanks for the suggestion!

  3. Book Momma says:

    Thanks Amanda! I hope you like the book. It does take a few pages to get into, but it is worth every minute you put into it. Let me know what you think when you are done reading it.

  4. Ashley Norton says:

    Hey! Amanda (Shelley) turned me onto your blog, since I LOVE reading as well. Just started Fingersmith as well. Great blog..looking forward to getting some other great suggestions as well! 🙂

    • Book Momma says:

      Thanks so much for stopping by. I think you will really love Fingersmith. Give it a few pages, it starts off a little slow. By page 50 you won’t be able to put it down. Then come back and let me know what you think. Keep checking back. I have lots of reviews to get to.

  5. Pingback: Review: The Little Stranger | bookmomma

  6. Pingback: Weekly Link Round Up « The Lesbrary

  7. Pingback: Summary Sunday….What I Wrote About This Week | bookmomma

  8. Amanda Shelley says:

    So…I finished Fingersmith. Wow…is all I can say at this point. I’m about to drink a glass of wine (or margarita) and think about all that happened in the book. It was crazy. Jaw dropping. So many twists and turns. You did a great job reviewing it. I tried to explain it to someone until I got confused and told them to just go and read it. I seriously could not put the book down. It’s addictive. On to the next!

    • Book Momma says:

      I am so glad that you liked Fingersmith. We will have to grab a drink and discuss. I don’t know anyone else who has read this book and would love to talk about it with someone. It was crazy, right?

Leave a Reply

